60+ Oyster 

60+ Oyster is for residents of London Boroughs aged 60 and over who do not yet qualify for a Freedom Pass.

Introduced in November 2012 by the Mayor of London, it was created to provide those who do not meet the criteria for a Freedom Pass with concessionary travel on London's public transport network.

For details of how to apply visit the the 60+ Oyster website.

Unlimited free travel is permitted on Tube, DLR, London Buses and London Trams services but some time restrictions for travel on National Rail services apply. These are shown on the 60+ Oyster map and are detailed below.


From Monday 15 June 2020, the time that Older Person's Freedom Pass and 60+ Oyster card holders can travel free on weekday mornings will change.

Free travel on TfL services will not be permitted before 09:00 Mondays to Fridays.

This change will help reduce demand at Peak times on TfL services, creating more space. 

National Rail services with inter-available routes that would normally allow Older Person's Freedom Pass and 60+ Oyster before 09:00, will also be affected by this change to the Conditions of the Passes:

Inter-available routes

  • Amersham and London Marylebone (Chiltern Railways)
  • Finsbury Park and London Kings Cross / Moorgate (Great Northern)
  • West Hampstead Thameslink and London Bridge / Elephant & Castle - (Thameslink)
  • London Liverpool Street and Seven Sisters / Tottenham Hale / Walthamstow Central (but not at intermediate stations) (Greater Anglia)
  • Stratford (London) and London Liverpool Street (Greater Anglia)
  • Upminster and London Fenchurch Street or London Liverpool Street (via Barking) (c2c)
  • West Ruislip and South Ruislip (Chiltern Railways)

60+ Oyster on National Rail

60+ Oyster is valid any time at weekends and on public holidays. Monday to Friday, free travel is only permitted at the following times and on the following Train Company services:

  • c2c: From 09:00 on all services between London Fenchurch Street and Upminster and from 09:30 on services between Rainham and Barking.
  • Chiltern Railways: From 09:00 on services between Amersham and Marylebone and between West Ruislip and South Ruislip. From 09:30 on any other route.
  • Elizabeth line: from 09:00 on all services.
  • Gatwick Express: From 09:30 on services from London Victoria. Travel will also require a Boundary Zones 6 - Gatwick Airport extension ticket.
  • Great Northern: From 09:00 on all services between Finsbury Park and London Kings Cross / Moorgate. From 09:30 on any other route 
  • Great Western Railway: From 09:30 on all services.
  • Greater Anglia: From 09:00 on all services between Stratford and London Liverpool Street. From 09:30 on all other routes.
  • London Northwestern Railway: From 09:00 on all services between Harrow & Wealdstone and London Euston.
  • London Overground: From 09:00 on all services.
  • Southeastern: From 09:00 on all services between Elephant & Castle and London Blackfriars. From 09:30 on all other routes.
  • Southern: From 09:00 on services between Clapham Junction and Harrow & Wealdstone. From 09:30 on all other routes.
  • South Western Railway: From 09:30 on all services.
  • Thameslink: From 09:00 on all services between West Hampstead Thameslink and Elephant & Castle / London Bridge. From 09:30 on all other routes.

Where 60+ Oyster cannot be used

Free travel is not available:

They are not valid for travel in First Class accommodation.

For travel beyond the 60+ Oyster map you must buy a separate extension ticket before you travel. Please show your pass at the ticket office when buying tickets.

Travelling with Children

If you are travelling on London Overground, London Underground or DLR services after 09:30 Mondays-Fridays (or at anytime at weekend or on public holidays) you can take up to four under-11s with you for free.

How to use 60+ Oyster

You must touch your pass flat on the yellow card reader at the gates at the beginning and end of your journey.

More Information

More information is available from the 60+ Oyster website.

Managed by:

Last updated:   23 May 2022